Diplo Presents Dubstep

Diplo has his fingers in many a pie and now he’s chosen to plunge it through the sweet, moist crust of dubstep. Diplo Presents Dubstep is a 16 track compilation which showcases “some brand new and unreleased, some classics, some overlooked sleepers”. The tracklist comprises a mixed bag, with some tunes hitting the jackpot and others floundering like Piers Morgan at a fundraiser. For example, James Blake ‘Sparing the Horse’ falls very much into the “maaate, sick tune” category, whereas Doctor P’s ‘Sweetshop’ falls into the “maaate, I’m not sure how much more I can take” division.

Starkey’s remix of Rudi Zygadlo’s ‘Resealable Friendship’ is definitely the high point, offering the beautifully vulnerable and epic in equal parts whilst James Blake’s refix of Untold’s ‘Stop What You’re Doing’ is similarly alluring. ‘Glazed’ by Brackles is another tune which I could loop and listen to all night long, but if you stop concentrating it drops into Stenchman and that glassy stare will be irreparably shattered forever. Anyway, Oldsy pointed out that this is probably intended to bring dubstep to a new audience, so in that case, it’s probably a positive thing that they’ll get the chance to listen to James Blake and Starkey alongside the bastardised creations from wub wub valley. Let’s just hope they make the right choices…

Tracklist after the jump.

1. Joker & Ginz: Re-Up
2. Major Lazer feat. Mr Lexx & Santigold: Hold The Line (Skream Remix)
3. DZ: Down
4. Diplo feat. Lil Jon: U Don’t Like Me (Datsik Remix)
5. Zomby: Strange Fruit
6. Brackles: Glazed
7. Jessica Mauboy: Burn (Stenchman Remix)
8. Doctor P: Sweet Shop
9. Rusko: Cockney Thug (Caspa Remix)
10. Untold: Stop What You’re Doing (James Blake Remix)
11. Borgore feat. Diplo: Sunset
12. James Blake: Sparing The Horse
13. Benga: 26 Basslines
14. Little Jinder: Youth Blood (12th Planet & Flinch Remix)
15. Rudi Zygadlo: Resealable Friendship (Starkey Remix)
16. Rusko feat. Amber Coffman: Hold On (Subfocus Remix)

Buy Diplo tunes at 7digital.

Featured Posts
Synkro - Broken Promise EP
Burial & Four Tet - Nova
Guido - Afrika